How My Non-cs Degree Helped Me In Becoming A Developer

How My Non-cs Degree Helped Me In Becoming A Developer

HOW MY NON-CS DEGREE HELPED ME IN BECOMING A DEVELOPER

Programming isn’t easy. All programmers out there can say this and more. You only try to make it easy by finding and drafting the best way for you. There are various ways of learning to become a programmer. Bootcamps, YouTube, e-books, Text-books. Each man just choose his own devil.

Some prefer just one out of this, and some; combine two or even more. Like I said, choose what’s best for you. Which one was mine?…Reading text books. Or anything on paper. That’s quite unusual, considering the technology age, even if you like reading, the highest you can go is read to learn to code with e-books. But mine was different, It must be a printed copy. It makes me read, again and again until I get the insight of whatever it is (remember, programming isn’t easy).

Why do I even like reading?… I literally find watching video courses very boring, except in some cases, so I tend to sleep off while watching. Giving up on videos was quite easy. And to me, giving up on programming wasn’t an option. The only vidoes I watch are YouTube videos, and I do that when I’m stuck on something and I need answers. Those cases, videos are about just one thing, short and precise.

Why do I find reading easy? Even reading for grades are very hard If I must say, so reading to learn a skill?. Before I started learning how to code, I had spent 4 years of my lifetime in a Nigerian tertiary institution. You want good grades; you read. No more, no less. So you must inculcate the habit of reading, more or less like your success depends on it; Oh yeah, your success in school. Sitting in a spot to read or learn for several hours was a thing I had to like. This really helped me out when I started learning how to code.

What’s your best way of learning?